Spacer for Navbar
Meadows near Muker

Walking in Northern England

Her Master's Walks are a series of walking books covering the area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and the North York Moors National Park. The first four books explore Swaledale, Wensleydale and Wharfedale. The fifth book Her Master's Walks in the Hambleton Hills began an introduction to the North York Moors. The last book Her Master's Walks in Teesdale introduced to the beautiful and distinctive landscape of the North Pennines AONB, the second largest designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in England.

The latest book Her Master's Walks in the Cleveland Hills continues the series into the North York Moors and will be followed by a guide to The Howardian Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The Books

About the Books

All the walks are on public rights of way and apart from unavoidable stiles they are dog friendly. They consist of a variety of scenery from lush meadows and woodland to heather clad moors and limestone scars. The walks follow circular routes and begin from a public car park where one is available, or at a place where it is possible to park safely without blocking farm gateways or causing inconvenience to others.

Each title in the series Her Master's Walks consists of ten routes. The walks consist of a two page descriptive guide and a full colour map with numbered arrow pointers. The route directions include grid references to aid map reading.

The map and route directions face each other in the book which fits into a standard map case enabling all essential information for the walk to be viewed. Where possible the maps have been reproduced to the original scale of 1:25000.

Description to the route

Map to the route

Sample pages of the walks featured in the books can be viewed and/or printed out by visiting The Walks page.

Contact | Site Map